Irish Book Awards






Photo: Conor Horgan

Parrot by Nicole Flattery 

Nicole Flattery’s stories have been published in The Irish Times, The Dublin Review, The White Review, Winter Papers, The Letters Page and The Stinging Fly. She is a recipient of a Next Generation Artists’ Award from the Arts Council and The White Review Short Story Prize. Originally from County Westmeath, Nicole now lives in Galway.




Mother May I by Amy Gaffney

Amy Gaffney came to writing and university later than she would have liked to. She had a baby at sixteen and simply had to wait a while before taking the plunge into studying English Literature at UCD. She hails from Kildare and is a graduate of UCD’s Creative Writing MA where she was Co-Editor in Chief of The HCE Review. Her poetry has been published in Poetry Ireland ReviewIrish Times Hennessy New Irish Writing, Ropes Unearthed 2019, Limerick Poetry Month, and in Skylight 47. Her prose has been published online in The HCE Review and Public House Magazine.


Photograph: ©Fran Veale

The Lamb by Andrea Carter

Andrea Carter studied law at Trinity College Dublin. She is a crime writer and author of the Inishowen Mysteries.


Balloon Animals by Laura-Blaise McDowell 

Laura-Blaise McDowell holds an MA in Creative Writing (UCD). Her stories have appeared in various publications, including Still Worlds Turning (No Alibis Press, 2019).


Sparing the Heather by Louise Kennedy

Louise Kennedy has been published in journals including Banshee, The Stinging Fly and The Tangerine. She was shortlisted for the Sunday Times Audible Short Story Award 2019. She lives in Sligo.


A Real Woman by Orla McAlinden

Orla McAlinden is the award-winning author of The Flight of the Wren and of Full of Grace which contains her shortlisted story.


Our website uses cookies and thereby collects information about your visit to improve our website (by analyzing), show you Social Media content and relevant advertisements. Please see our cookies page for furher details or agree by clicking the 'Accept' button.

Cookie settings

Below you can choose which kind of cookies you allow on this website. Click on the "Save cookie settings" button to apply your choice.

FunctionalOur website uses functional cookies. These cookies are necessary to let our website work.

AnalyticalOur website uses analytical cookies to make it possible to analyze our website and optimize for the purpose of a.o. the usability.

Social mediaOur website places social media cookies to show you 3rd party content like YouTube and FaceBook. These cookies may track your personal data.

AdvertisingOur website places advertising cookies to show you 3rd party advertisements based on your interests. These cookies may track your personal data.

OtherOur website places 3rd party cookies from other 3rd party services which aren't Analytical, Social media or Advertising.