Irish Book Awards

Supported by

  • Dept 51 @ Eason
  • Bookselling Ireland
  • Specsavers
  • Listowel Writers’ Week
  • Sunday Independent
  • Eason
  • Avoca
  • RTÉ Offical Media Partner
  • Ireland AM
  • National Book Awards
  • Irish Independent

Bookselling Ireland Non-fiction Book of the Year

“Non-fiction” covers a multitude of subjects and it was always somewhat anomalous to have sometimes strange bedfellows lumped together in the same category. Accordingly, since 2015 the non-fiction category has been split into non-fiction and popular non-fiction with non-fiction, covering narrative works of Irish history, biography, politics, archaeology, travel, and culture.

Previous Winners:

  • 2018 People Like Me by Lynn Ruane
  • 2017 Wounds: A Memoir of War & Love by Fergal Keane
  • 2016 I Read the News Today, Oh Boy by Paul Howard
  • 2015 Children of the Rising by Joe Duffy
  • 2014 The Life and Loves of a He Devil: A Memoir by Graham Norton
  • 2013 Staring at Lakes by Michael Harding
  • 2012 Country Girl by Edna O’Brien
  • 2011 Easy Meals by Rachel Allen
  • 2010 A Coward If I Return, A Hero If I Fall by Neil Richardson   
  • 2009 Stepping Stones by Dennis O’Driscoll & Seamus Heaney  
  • 2008 Judging Dev by Diarmuid Ferriter  
  • 2007 Connemara by Tim Robinson   
  • 2006 In The Dark Room by Brian Dillon