Irish Book Awards

Supported by

  • Listowel Writers’ Week
  • Eason
  • Irish Independent
  • Sunday Independent
  • Bookselling Ireland
  • National Book Awards
  • Dept 51 @ Eason
  • Ireland AM
  • Specsavers
  • Avoca
  • RTÉ Offical Media Partner

The Listowel Writers’ Week Poem of the Year 2016




In Glasnevin by Jane Clarke

Roscommon & Wicklow poet Jane Clarke has won many poetry prizes including the 2016 Hennessy Literary Award for Poetry, the 2014 Listowel Writers’ Week Poetry Collection Award, and the 2014 Trocaire/Poetry Ireland Competition. Her first collection, The River, was published by Bloodaxe Books in 2015.



Patagonia by Emma McKervey

Emma McKervey is from Co Down and studied at Dartington College of Arts. She lives in Holywood, Co. Down, and, after careers in music, community arts, and teaching, has returned to her first love of poetry. Her work has been published in Ireland and internationally.


Suppose I lost by Andrew Soye

Andrew Soye is from Armagh, his poetry has been published in magazines in Ireland and in the UK. His poem Kigali won the Kent & Sussex Poetry Competition in 2014 and he is currently preparing his first collection.

Love / Hotel / Love by Michael Naghten Shanks

Michael Naghten Shanks is a poet and editor from Dublin. He is the editor of the online literary journal Bohemyth. His work has been published in many literary magazines and his debut pamphlet, Year of the Ingénue, was published by Eyewear Publishing in 2015.