Irish Book Awards

Supported by

  • Avoca
  • Specsavers
  • Irish Independent
  • Ireland AM
  • Listowel Writers’ Week
  • RTÉ Offical Media Partner
  • National Book Awards
  • Eason
  • Dept 51 @ Eason
  • Sunday Independent
  • Bookselling Ireland

Edna O’Brien

Edna O’Brien has written more than twenty works of fiction. She is the recipient of many awards, including the Irish PEN Lifetime Achievement Award, the American National Arts Gold Medal, the Frank O’Connor Prize and the PEN/Nabokov Award for Achievement in International Literature. Born and raised in the west of Ireland, she has lived in London for many years. The Country Girls Trilogy was chosen as Dublin’s ‘One City One Book’ in 2019.

Photo: Murdo MacLeod

Nominated for