Irish Book Awards

Eason Novel of the Year

Inaugurated in 2000, the Novel of the Year was the foundation stone of the Irish Book Awards. Early winners included John McGahern, Colum McCann and Anne Enright. Eason are proud to sponsor this prestigious award, which is always a mark of the depth and quality of Irish fiction.

Previous Winners:

  • 2019 Shadowplay by Joseph O’Connor
  • 2018 Normal People by Sally Rooney
  • 2017 Midwinter Break by Bernard MacLaverty
  • 2016 Solar Bones by Mike McCormack
  • 2015 The Green Road by Anne Enright
  • 2014 Academy Street by Mary Costello
  • 2013 The Guts by Roddy Doyle
  • 2012  Ancient Light by John Banville
  • 2011  Mistaken by Neil Jordan
  • 2010  Room by Emma Donoghue
  • 2009  The Secret Scripture by Sebastian Barry
  • 2008  The Gathering by Anne Enright
  • 2007  Winterwood by Patrick McCabe
  • 2006  The Sea by John Banville
  • 2005  Havoc In Its Third Year by Ronan Bennett
  • 2004  Dancer by Colum McCann
  • 2003  That They May Face the Rising Sun by John McGahern

Our website uses cookies and thereby collects information about your visit to improve our website (by analyzing), show you Social Media content and relevant advertisements. Please see our cookies page for furher details or agree by clicking the 'Accept' button.

Cookie settings

Below you can choose which kind of cookies you allow on this website. Click on the "Save cookie settings" button to apply your choice.

FunctionalOur website uses functional cookies. These cookies are necessary to let our website work.

AnalyticalOur website uses analytical cookies to make it possible to analyze our website and optimize for the purpose of a.o. the usability.

Social mediaOur website places social media cookies to show you 3rd party content like YouTube and FaceBook. These cookies may track your personal data.

AdvertisingOur website places advertising cookies to show you 3rd party advertisements based on your interests. These cookies may track your personal data.

OtherOur website places 3rd party cookies from other 3rd party services which aren't Analytical, Social media or Advertising.