Irish Book Awards

Supported by

  • Eason
  • Avoca
  • Bookselling Ireland
  • Sunday Independent
  • Specsavers
  • Ireland AM
  • Listowel Writers’ Week
  • RTÉ Offical Media Partner
  • Irish Independent
  • National Book Awards
  • Dept 51 @ Eason


An Post Delivers

July 31, 2020

After three years of headline sponsorship, it’s become impossible to imagine the Irish literary sector without An Post’s energy and commitment to books, authors, and the written word. Through its dynamic #ReadersWanted campaign, An Post has shown the e …

Read more

Submissions open for the An Post Irish Book Awards 2020

June 30, 2020

Ireland’s major literary event returns to celebrate the glories of Irish writing The big sleep may soon be over and a brave new world beckons as the An Post Irish Book Awards gear up to celebrate another wonderful year for Irish writing. Along with mos …

Read more

Passing of a Poetry Legend

April 28, 2020

Irish literary community laments the death of the poet Eavan Boland Described by President Higgins as “one of the pre-eminent voices in Irish literature”  Eavan Boland has died from a stroke, aged 75.  Tributes have been pouring in for a woman who was …

Read more

An Post Irish Book Awards wins triple at the European Sponsorship Association Awards ceremony

February 27, 2020

The An Post Irish Book Awards has scooped three awards including the Grand Prix at the 2020 European Sponsorship Association Awards (ESA). Demonstrating the diversity of the ESA Awards, the Grand Prix winner was a cultural sponsorship, with the An Post …

Read more

Death of a Dear Friend – Keelin Shanley

February 10, 2020

It was with great sadness that we learned of the untimely death of Keelin Shanley. Keelin was an award-winning journalist, a widely-respected RTÉ broadcaster and a true friend of the An Post Irish Book Awards. Along with RTÉ colleague, Evelyn O’Rourke, …

Read more

‘Overcoming’ by Vicky Phelan and Naomi Linehan named as the An Post Irish Book of the Year 2019

January 30, 2020

‘Overcoming’ by Vicky Phelan and Naomi Linehan, a book written about truth and bravery through Vicky’s remarkable personal story, has been voted the ‘An Post Irish Book of the Year 2019’. The ‘An Post Irish Book of the Year 2019’ was chosen by a public …

Read more

An Post has supported the National Adult Literacy Agency in providing literacy, numeracy and digital tuition to adults and families for more than a decade

November 26, 2019

This short documentary, below,  filmed by noted documentarian Ken Wardrop follows Veronica Poole – a determined woman who has taken the brave step to return to education after many years. Even though Veronica is only at the start of her journey back in …

Read more

Winners of the An Post Irish Book Awards 2019 announced

November 20, 2019

Joseph O’Connor, Vicky Phelan, Sinéad Gleeson, Joe Duffy and Freya McClements, Andrea Corr, Richie Sadlier, Anne Griffin and Jane Casey among the winners  Colm Tóibín honoured with Bob Hughes Lifetime Achievement Award Voting now open for the ‘An Post …

Read more

Shortlist unveiled for the An Post Irish Book Awards 2019

October 24, 2019

Shortlist includes Kevin Barry, Edna O’Brien, Joseph O’Connor, Cecelia Ahern, Emma Dabiri, Niall Breslin, Fintan O’Toole, Samantha Power, Emer McLysaght and Sarah Breen, Jamie Heaslip, Donal Skehan, Andrea Corr, Vicky Phelan, Diarmaid Ferriter, Sinéad …

Read more

Game of Thrones author George R. R. Martin announced as recipient of The An Post International Recognition Award for 2019

August 21, 2019

George R.R. Martin, the world-renowned author and creative force behind Game of Thrones, is to receive The An Post International Recognition Award as part of this year’s An Post Irish Book Awards. The celebrated fantasy writer will receive the accolade …

Read more