Sports Book of the Year

Sports Book of the Year

About The Award

No nation revels in its sporting culture more than the Irish. We also love to write about it and to read about it and every year, whether it’s GAA or soccer, rugby or horse racing, a terrific crop of finely-written sports books hits the Irish bookstores. Past winners have included Irish sporting greats such as Ronan O’Gara, Johnny Giles, Brian O’Driscoll and Paul McGrath.

Bord Gáis Energy Sports
Book of the Year

Champagne Football

By Mark Tighe & Paul Rowan

For fifteen years, John Delaney ran the Football Association of Ireland as his own personal fiefdom. In Champagne Football, Mark Tighe and Paul Rowan dig deep into the story of Delaney’s career and of the FAI’s slide into ruin. It is a gripping, sometimes darkly hilarious and often enraging piece of reporting by the journalists who finally pulled back the curtain on the FAI’s mismanagement.

The 2020 Shortlist

by Joseph O’Connor
Normal People
by Sally Rooney
Midwinter Break
by Bernard MacLaverty
Solar Bones
by Mike McCormack

Previous Winners

2019 – Recovering by Richie Sadlier with Dion Fanning

2018 – Game Changer by Cora Staunton with Mary White

2017 – The Choice by Philly McMahon with Niall Kelly

2016 – The Battle by Paul O’Connell

2015 – Until Victory Always: A Memoir by Jim McGuinness

2014 – The Test by Brian O’Driscoll

2013 – Seven Deadly Sins by David Walsh

2012 – My Olympic Dream by Katie Taylor

2011 – Inside the Peloton by Nicolas Roche

2010 – A Football Man – My Autobiography by John Giles

2009 – Ronan O’Gara – My Autobiography by Ronan O’Gara

2008 – Trevor Brennan: Heart and Soul with Gerry Thornley

2007 – Back from the Brink by Paul McGrath

Rewatch the 2020 Virtual ceremony here...