Writing.IE Short Story OF THE YEAR

About The Award

The Irish short story has a distinctive place in the modern Irish literary tradition and many of Ireland’s most celebrated writers have been practitioners of the genre, Stories submitted for this category must be original fiction, i.e. neither a reprint nor adaptation of a previously-published work, and all stories must have been or will be published in English or Irish during the qualifying period. Stories published in Irish must be supplied with an English translation.

Sponsored by

Writing.ie Short Story of the Year 2020

I Ate It All And I Really Thought I Wouldn’t

by Caoilinn Hughes

Caoilinn Hughes is the author of Orchid & the Wasp (Oneworld 2018), which won the Collyer Bristow Prize, was shortlisted for the Hearst Big Book Awards, the Butler Literary Award and longlisted for the Authors’ Club Best First Novel Award. Her poetry collection, Gathering Evidence (Carcanet 2014), won the Shine/Strong Award and was shortlisted for four other prizes. Her work has appeared in GrantaPOETRYTin HouseBest British PoetryBBC Radio 3 and elsewhere. She has a PhD from Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand, and she was recently Visiting Writer at Maastricht University in the Netherlands. For her short fiction, she won The Moth International Short Story Prize 2018 and an O.Henry Prize in 2019.

The 2020 Shortlist

by Joseph O’Connor
Normal People
by Sally Rooney
Midwinter Break
by Bernard MacLaverty
Solar Bones
by Mike McCormack

Previous Winners

2019 – Parrot by Nicole Flattery

2018 – How to Build a Space Rocket by Roisin O’Donnell

2017 – Back to Bones by Christine Dwyer Hickey

2016 – The Visit by Orla McAlinden

2015 – A Slanting of the Sun by Donal Ryan

2014 – Rest Day by John Boyne

2013 – The Things We Lose The Things We Leave Behind by Billy O’Callaghan

Rewatch the 2020 Virtual ceremony here...