Listeners’ Choice Award

Listeners’ Choice Award

About The Award

Five of the nation’s top RTE presenters – Ryan Tubridy, Joe Duffy, Ray D’Arcy, Miriam O’Callaghan, and Sean Rocks – choose a favourite title to champion in The RTE Listeners’ Choice category.  These five titles then form the shortlist to be voted upon by members of the public.  You can hear the presenters discussing their chosen titles on RTE Radio 1 during the shortlist promotional period.

RTÉ Radio 1 Listeners’
Choice Award 2020

A Light That
Never Goes Out

By Keelin Shanley

When Keelin Shanley passed away in February aged 51, it was hard to grasp that someone so filled with life was gone. Keelin reveals with real honesty what it’s like to keep living your life and having a career while dealing with the challenges of cancer treatment. Written with the help of Alison Walsh and completed posthumously by Keelin’s husband Conor Ferguson, A Light That Never Goes Out is a remarkable story of courage and resilience.

The 2020 Shortlist

by Joseph O’Connor
Normal People
by Sally Rooney
Midwinter Break
by Bernard MacLaverty
Solar Bones
by Mike McCormack

Previous Winners

2019 – Overcoming by Vicky Phelan with Naomi Lineham

2018 – Skin Deep 
by Liz Nugent

2017 – he: A novel 
by John Connolly

2016 – Lying In Wait 
by Liz Nugent

2015 – Irelandopedia 
by Fatti & John Burke

2014 –  It’s All In The Head 
by Majella O’Donnell

2013 – Staring at Lakes 
by Michael Harding

2012 – Just Mary 
by Mary O’Rourke

2011 – How To Be A Woman 
by Caitlin Moran

2010 – Come What May 
by Dónal Óg Cusack

2009 – The Secret Scripture 
by Sebastian Barry

2008 – Judging Dev 
by Diarmaid Ferriter

2007 – The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas by John Boyne

Rewatch the 2020 Virtual ceremony here...