Crime Fiction Book of the Year

Crime Fiction Book of the Year

About The Award

The recent explosion of creativity in Irish crime writing – sometimes called Emerald Noir – has been remarkable by any standards and Irish crime writers are now being internationally recognised with nominations for top awards like The Edgars.

Irish Independent Crime Fiction
Book of the Year

After the Silence

By Louise O'Neill

Nessa Crowley’s murderer has been protected by silence for ten years.

On the day of Henry and Keelin Kinsella’s wild party at their big house a violent storm engulfed the island of Inisrún, cutting it off from the mainland. When morning broke Nessa Crowley’s lifeless body lay in the garden, her last breath silenced by the music and the thunder.

It was impossible to get off the island that night. The killer couldn’t have escaped Inisrún, but no-one was charged with the murder. The mystery that surrounded the death of Nessa remained hidden. But the islanders knew who to blame for the crime that changed them forever.

Ten years later a documentary crew arrives, determined to find evidence that will prove Henry’s guilt and Keelin’s complicity in the murder of beautiful Nessa.

The 2020 Shortlist

by Joseph O’Connor
Normal People
by Sally Rooney
Midwinter Break
by Bernard MacLaverty
Solar Bones
by Mike McCormack

Previous Winners

2019 – Cruel Acts by Jane Casey

2018 – Skin Deep by Liz Nugent

2017 – The Therapy House by Julie Parsons

2016 – The Trespasser by Tana French

2015 – After the Fire by Jane Casey

2014 – Unravelling Oliver by Liz Nugent

2013 – The Doll’s House by Louise Phillips

2012 – Broken Harbour by Tana French

2011 – Bloodland by Alan Glynn

2010 – Dark Times in the City by Gene Kerrigan

2009 – Blood Runs Cold by Alex Barclay


Rewatch the 2020 Virtual ceremony here...