Irish Book Awards

National Book Tokens Nonfiction Book of the Year

Nonfiction represents a large proportion of the output of Irish publishers. It was therefore crucial to reward such books and this ambition was achieved in 2006 when Argosy book wholesalers joined the first expansion of the Irish Book Awards. Since then, the award has gone from strength to strength, and now we are delighted it is sponsored by National Book Tokens.

Previous Winners:

  • 2014 The Life and Loves of a He Devil: A Memoir by Graham Norton
  • 2013 Staring at Lakes by Michael Harding
  • 2012 Country Girl by Edna O’Brien
  • 2011 Easy Meals by Rachel Allen
  • 2010 A Coward If I Return, A Hero If I Fall by Neil Richardson   
  • 2009 Stepping Stones by Dennis O’Driscoll & Seamus Heaney  
  • 2008 Judging Dev by Diarmuid Ferriter  
  • 2007 Connemara by Tim Robinson   
  • 2006 In The Dark Room by Brian Dillon   

Click here for Eligibility guidelines

Our website uses cookies and thereby collects information about your visit to improve our website (by analyzing), show you Social Media content and relevant advertisements. Please see our cookies page for furher details or agree by clicking the 'Accept' button.

Cookie settings

Below you can choose which kind of cookies you allow on this website. Click on the "Save cookie settings" button to apply your choice.

FunctionalOur website uses functional cookies. These cookies are necessary to let our website work.

AnalyticalOur website uses analytical cookies to make it possible to analyze our website and optimize for the purpose of a.o. the usability.

Social mediaOur website places social media cookies to show you 3rd party content like YouTube and FaceBook. These cookies may track your personal data.

AdvertisingOur website places advertising cookies to show you 3rd party advertisements based on your interests. These cookies may track your personal data.

OtherOur website places 3rd party cookies from other 3rd party services which aren't Analytical, Social media or Advertising.