Irish Book Awards

Supported by

  • Dept 51 @ Eason
  • Avoca
  • Sunday Independent
  • Specsavers
  • Listowel Writers’ Week
  • National Book Awards
  • RTÉ Offical Media Partner
  • Ireland AM
  • Bookselling Ireland
  • Eason
  • Irish Independent

An Post, in association with the Irish National Teachers’ Organisation (INTO), presented national awards for creative writing to winners of the 2019 Scéal Eile competition

May 20, 2019

The competition is rooted in primary and secondary children’s love of books and is part of the An Post Education Awards, in its 35th year promoting literacy and learning for generations of Irish students.

Scéal Eile saw students from all levels revisiting their all-time favourite books with the task of creating their own alternative storyline or ending. Students from junior infants right through to sixth year took their favourite stories and best loved characters on a whole new adventure, creating a direction they’ve always wanted to see in their favourite books.

Speaking at the national awards ceremony, CEO David McRedmond said: “We are delighted to bring creative writing to children and to schools around the country as part of our work on promoting literacy.

“Through our sponsorship of the Irish Book Awards we are championing Irish authors and today with the help of two of help of two of Ireland’s most inspiring children’s authors – Sarah (Webb) and David (Rudden) we are investing in future generations, by encouraging reading, writing and books for children of all ages.”

Scéal Eile Competition Winners 2019

Primary School Winners:

  • Ava Harney, Ballinamere N.S., Tullamore, Co. Offaly – Category 1
  • Menahal Fatima Naqui, Castletown Girls School, Dundalk, Co. Louth – Category 2
  • Ella Sweeney, S.N. Naomh Breandán, Cor an Dola, Co. na Gaillimhe – Category 3
  • Jamie Kinsella, Gorey Educate Together N.S., Gorey, Co. Wexford – Category 4
  • Jasmine McDonnell, All Saints National School, Mullingar, Co. Westmeath – Special Award.


Secondary School Winners:

  • Josh Kenny, Sandymount Park ETSS, Roslyn Park, Sandymount, Dublin 4 – Category 1
  • Aisling Byrne, Scoil Dara, Kilcock, Co. Kildare – Category 2
  • Emma Thomas, Castletroy College, Newtown, Co Limerick – Special Award.

View the full list of winners and runners-up at