Irish Book Awards

Supported by

  • Avoca
  • Dept 51 @ Eason
  • Sunday Independent
  • Odgers Berndtson
  • Business Post
  • Irish Independent
  • Specsavers
  • Listowel Writers’ Week
  • Cross Pens
  • Eason
  • RTÉ Offical Media Partner
  • Bookselling Ireland
  • Ireland AM
  • National Book Awards

Solar Bones by Mike McCormack named the Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book of the Year 2016

December 14, 2016

Solar Bones, a novel written in a single 223-page sentence by Mike McCormack has been voted the ‘Bord Gáis Energy Book of the Year’ for 2016.  Described as “a hymn to modern small-town life”, the experimental novel received unanimously positive reviews around the time of its publication.

The ‘Bord Gáis Energy Book of the Year 2016’ was chosen by public vote from the list of category winners announced at the recent Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards. Previous winners of this award include ‘Asking for it’ by Louise O’Neill, ‘Academy St’ by Mary Costello, ‘Staring at Lakes’ by Michael Harding, ‘The Spinning Heart’ by Donal Ryan and ‘Solace’ by Belinda McKeon.

Published by Dublin-based Tramp Press in May 2016, Solar Bones is a profound new work by one of Ireland’s most important contemporary novelists. Once a year, on All Souls’ Day, it is said in Ireland that the dead may return. Solar Bones is the story of one such visit. Marcus Conway, a middle-aged engineer, turns up one afternoon at his kitchen table and considers the events that took him away and then brought him home again. Funny and strange, McCormack’s ambitious and other-worldly novel plays with form and defies convention. A beautiful and haunting elegy, this story of order and chaos, love and loss captures how minor decisions ripple into waves and test our integrity every day.


Speaking about his award win Mile McCormack commented that he was “‘delighted with this wholly unexpected honour”.

Mike McCormack is an award-winning novelist and short story writer from Mayo. His previous work includes ‘Getting it in the Head’ (1995), ‘Notes from a Coma’ (2005), which was shortlisted for the Irish Book of the Year Award, and ‘Forensic Songs’ (2012). In 1996 he was awarded the Rooney Prize for Irish Literature and in 2007 he was awarded a Civitella Ranieri Fellowship. Solar Bones was recently awarded the Goldsmith Prize 2016.

Our website uses cookies and thereby collects information about your visit to improve our website (by analyzing), show you Social Media content and relevant advertisements. Please see our cookies page for furher details or agree by clicking the 'Accept' button.

Cookie settings

Below you can choose which kind of cookies you allow on this website. Click on the "Save cookie settings" button to apply your choice.

FunctionalOur website uses functional cookies. These cookies are necessary to let our website work.

AnalyticalOur website uses analytical cookies to make it possible to analyze our website and optimize for the purpose of a.o. the usability.

Social mediaOur website places social media cookies to show you 3rd party content like YouTube and FaceBook. These cookies may track your personal data.

AdvertisingOur website places advertising cookies to show you 3rd party advertisements based on your interests. These cookies may track your personal data.

OtherOur website places 3rd party cookies from other 3rd party services which aren't Analytical, Social media or Advertising.