Irish Book Awards

Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards 2015 winning authors revealed

November 25, 2015

Anne Enright, Donal Ryan, Niall Breslin, Sara Baume and Louise O’ Neill were some of the winning authors named at the Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards 2015.

Renowned Irish American novelist J.P. Donleavy was presented with the Bob Hughes Lifetime Achievement Award. Adding his congratulations to his friend “Mike” Donleavy by video-link, was Hollywood megastar Johnny Depp, who is producing and reportedly starring in, a film version of Donleavy’s 1955 novel, The Ginger Man.

Celebrating its 10th anniversary this year, the star-studded awards ceremony took place in Dublin’s Double Tree Hilton and was attended by Ireland’s top writers, publishers, booksellers and media personalities including novelists Edna O’ Brien, Kevin Barry, Paul Murray and Belinda McKeon, broadcasters and writers Ryan Tubridy, Sinead Crowley, Diarmuid Ferriter and Matt Cooper, food writers Rachel Allen, Donal Skehan, Diana Henry and Trish Deseine, writers Paul Howard, Martina Devlin, Carlo Gebler, Roisin Ingle, Derek Landy and many more.

The full list of winners in the ‘Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards 2015’ are:

Eason Book Club Novel of the Year
The Green Road by Anne Enright (Jonathan Cape) Best Irish Published Book of the Year
The Long Gaze Back: An Anthology of Irish Women Writers edited by Sinéad Gleeson (New Island Books)

Specsavers Children’s Book of the Year (Junior)
Imaginary Fred by Eoin Colfer and Oliver Jeffers (HarperCollins Children’s Books)

Specsavers Children’s Book of the Year (Senior)
Asking For It by Louise O’ Neill (Quercus Books)

Avonmore Cookbook of the Year
The Virtuous Tart by Susan Jane White (Gill & Macmillan)

Ireland AM Crime Book of the Year
After the Fire by Jane Casey (Ebury Press)

Irish Independent Popular Fiction Book of the Year
The Way We Were by Sinead Moriarty (Penguin Ireland)

National Book Tokens Non-Fiction Book of the Year
Children of the Rising by Joe Duffy (Hachette Books Ireland)

Bord Gáis Energy Sports Book of the Year
Until Victory Always: A Memoir by Jim McGuinness (Gill & Macmillan)

Sunday Independent Newcomer of the Year
Spill Simmer Falter Wither by Sara Baume (Tramp Press)

Books Are My Bag Popular Non-Fiction Book of the Year
Me and My Mate Jeffrey by Niall Breslin (Hachette Books Ireland)

RTÉ Radio 1’s The Ryan Tubridy Show Listeners’ Choice Award
Irelandopedia by Fatti and John Burke (Gill & Macmillan) Short Story of the Year
A Slanting of the Sun by Donal Ryan (A Slanting of the Sun) (Doubleday)

This year, over 45,000 readers and book lovers made their voices heard and voted to select the winners in each category. From 26th November 2015, the public can vote for their overall ‘Bord Gáis Energy Book of the Year’ on the awards website. Voting is open until midnight on 17th December and anyone who votes is in with the chance of winning €100 in National Book Tokens, Previous winners of the ‘Bord Gáis Energy Book of the Year’ include Mary Costello for Academy St, Donal Ryan for The Spinning Heart, Michael Harding for Staring at Lakes, and Belinda McKeon for Solace.


This year’s awards ceremony was presented by Keelin Shanley accompanied by guest presenters Rick O’ Shea and Sean Rocks. Following their award presentation, each winning author was interviewed by RTÉ’s Evelyn O’ Rourke in the Bord Gáis Energy Green Room. These interviews, along with highlights from the awards ceremony, will be broadcast on RTÉ One on Saturday, 28th November at 11.15pm.

Commenting on this year’s winning books, Brendan Corbett, Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards Chairperson, said:
“With these awards, one thing never changes and that is the seemingly limitless creativity of Irish writers.  We know that every year we will be guaranteed fantastic books to choose from and that there will be great work from experienced writers and always fresh talent bursting through to challenge them as the list of winners shows.  Irish literature really is the gift that keeps on giving.  We congratulate all of this year’s winners and urge readers to support them this Christmas.”

Dave Kirwan, Chief Operating Officer at Bord Gáis Energy, added:
‘This year, the Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards has reached a significant milestone and we’re proud of our association with a campaign which celebrates and publicises the importance of books and reading to Ireland and Irish people. The standard of shortlisted authors is always impressive, with tough competition in each category. I’d like to congratulate the deserving winners and encourage the general public to get behind their favourite for the overall ‘Book of the Year’.’

Our website uses cookies and thereby collects information about your visit to improve our website (by analyzing), show you Social Media content and relevant advertisements. Please see our cookies page for furher details or agree by clicking the 'Accept' button.

Cookie settings

Below you can choose which kind of cookies you allow on this website. Click on the "Save cookie settings" button to apply your choice.

FunctionalOur website uses functional cookies. These cookies are necessary to let our website work.

AnalyticalOur website uses analytical cookies to make it possible to analyze our website and optimize for the purpose of a.o. the usability.

Social mediaOur website places social media cookies to show you 3rd party content like YouTube and FaceBook. These cookies may track your personal data.

AdvertisingOur website places advertising cookies to show you 3rd party advertisements based on your interests. These cookies may track your personal data.

OtherOur website places 3rd party cookies from other 3rd party services which aren't Analytical, Social media or Advertising.