Irish Book Awards

2012 Winners

The winners in the Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards 2012 are:


Eason Novel of the Year:

Ancient Light by John Banville (Viking)



RTÉ Radio 1’s John Murray Show Listeners’ Choice Award:

Just Mary by Mary O’ Rourke (Gill & Macmillan)



Ireland AM Crime Fiction Book of the Year:

Broken Harbour by Tana French (Hachette Books Ireland)



Avonmore Cookbook of the Year:

Eat like an Italian by Catherine Fulvio (Gill & Macmillan)



The Argosy Non-Fiction Book of the Year:

Country Girl by Edna O’ Brien (Faber and Faber)



Eason Popular Fiction Book of the Year:

A Week in Winter by Maeve Binchy (Orion)



Lifestyle Sports Sports Book of the Year:

My Olympic Dream by Katie Taylor (Simon & Schuster)



Sunday Independent Newcomer of the Year:

The Spinning Heart by Donal Ryan (Doubleday Ireland/Lilliput)

also voted Bord Gáis Energy Book of the Year


International Education Services Best Irish Published Book of the Year:

Atlas of the Great Irish Famine by John Crowley, William J. Smyth and Mike Murphy (Cork University Press)


Specsavers Children’s Book of the Year: Junior

This Moose Belongs to Me by Oliver Jeffers (Harper Collins Children’s Books)



Specsavers Children’s Book of the Year:  Senior

Artemis Fowl: The Last Guardian by Eoin Colfer (Puffin)



Bord Gáis Energy Bookshop of the Year:

Bridge Street Books, Wicklow Town


Jennifer Johnston & Joe O'Connor

Bob Hughes Lifetime Achievement Award

Esteemed novelist and playwright Jennifer Johnston was presented with the Bob Hughes Lifetime Achievement Award by Joseph O’ Connor for her contribution to Irish literature.

Our website uses cookies and thereby collects information about your visit to improve our website (by analyzing), show you Social Media content and relevant advertisements. Please see our cookies page for furher details or agree by clicking the 'Accept' button.

Cookie settings

Below you can choose which kind of cookies you allow on this website. Click on the "Save cookie settings" button to apply your choice.

FunctionalOur website uses functional cookies. These cookies are necessary to let our website work.

AnalyticalOur website uses analytical cookies to make it possible to analyze our website and optimize for the purpose of a.o. the usability.

Social mediaOur website places social media cookies to show you 3rd party content like YouTube and FaceBook. These cookies may track your personal data.

AdvertisingOur website places advertising cookies to show you 3rd party advertisements based on your interests. These cookies may track your personal data.

OtherOur website places 3rd party cookies from other 3rd party services which aren't Analytical, Social media or Advertising.