Irish Book Awards

Supported by

  • Sunday Independent
  • Onside
  • Books Are My Bag
  • Irish Independent
  • Specsavers
  • Listowel Writers’ Week
  • Dept 51 @ Eason
  • National Book Awards
  • Eurospar
  • Eason Book Club
  • Ireland AM
  • RTÉ Offical Media Partner

Sunday Independent Newcomer of the Year

This award was created to reward the most promising first-time author published in Ireland in any given year. The award is unrestricted by genre. In 2011, sponsorship of the award passed to our longtime media partner, The Sunday Independent, whose literary editor Madeleine Keane has been a strong supporter of new writing in her literary pages.

Previous Winners: 

  • 2016 Red Dirt by E. M. Reapy
  • 2015 Spill Simmer Falter Wither by Sara Baume
  • 2014 Only Ever Yours by Louise O’Neill
  • 2013 The Herbalist by Niamh Boyce
  • 2012 The Spinning Heart by Donal Ryan
  • 2011 Solace by Belinda McKeon     
  • 2010 JFK in Ireland by Ryan Tubridy      
  • 2009 Confessions of a Fallen Angel by Ronan O’Brien     
  • 2008 With My Lazy Eye by Julia Kelly     
  • 2007 The Goddess Guide by Gisele Scanlon  

Click here for Eligibility guidelines