Irish Book Awards

Supported by

Bord Gáis Energy
  • RTE One
  • Onside
  • Ireland AM
  • Listowel Writers’ Week
  • Books Are My Bag
  • RTE Radio
  • National Book Awards
  • Eurospar
  • Specsavers
  • Eason Book Club
  • Dept 51 @ Eason
  • RTE Arts
  • Irish Independent
  • Sunday Independent

Specsavers Popular Fiction Book of the Year

Since the late lamented Maeve Binchy first blazed the trail, Irish authors have built an international reputation for excellence in the genre of popular fiction, and the increasing number of emerging writers suggest that the dominance is likely to continue. In 2017 Specsavers became sponsor of this award.

Previous Winners:

  • 2016 Holding by Graham Norton
  • 2015 The Way We Were by Sinéad Moriarty
  • 2014 The Year I Met You by Cecelia Ahern
  • 2013 Downturn Abbey by Ross O’Carroll Kelly
  • 2012 A Week in Winter by Maeve Binchy
  • 2011 All For You by Sheila O’Flanagan
  • 2010 The Oh My God Delusion by Ross O’Carroll Kelly
  • 2009 This Charming Man by Marian Keyes
  • 2008 Take A Look At Me Now by Anita Notaro
  • 2007 Should Have Got Off at Sydney Parade by Ross O’Carroll Kelly

Click here for Eligibility guidelines