Irish Book Awards

Supported by

  • Books Are My Bag
  • Dept 51 @ Eason
  • Sunday Independent
  • Specsavers
  • Eurospar
  • Onside
  • Listowel Writers’ Week
  • RTÉ Offical Media Partner
  • National Book Awards
  • Eason Book Club
  • Irish Independent
  • Ireland AM

National Book Tokens Children’s Book of the Year, Senior

The Children’s Awards were created in the first Irish Book Awards expansion of 2006.  The initial sponsor was The Dublin Airport Authority and Specsavers took over from 2011-2016. The children’s awards are split into three categories: junior, senior, and from 2017, Teen & Young Adult. The senior category, now sponsored by National Book Tokens, is aimed at readers aged 8-12 years.

Previous Winners:

  • 2016 Knights of the Borrowed Dark by Dave Rudden
  • 2015 Asking For It by by Louise O’Neill
  • 2014 Moone Boy by Chris O’Dowd & Nick V. Murphy
  • 2013 Skulduggery Pleasant: Last Stand of Dead Men by Derek Landy
  • 2012 Artemis Fowl: The Last Guardian by Eoin Colfer
  • 2011 The Real Rebecca by Anna Carey
  • 2010 Skulduggery Pleasant: Mortal Coil by Derek Landy
  • 2009 Skulduggery Pleasant: Playing with Fire by Derek Landy
  • 2008 Wilderness by Roddy Doyle
  • 2007 The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas by John Boyne
  • 2006 The New Policeman by Kate Thompson

Click here for Eligibility guidelines