Irish Book Awards

Supported by

  • Irish Independent
  • RTÉ Offical Media Partner
  • Books Are My Bag
  • Listowel Writers’ Week
  • National Book Awards
  • Sunday Independent
  • Ireland AM
  • Dept 51 @ Eason
  • Specsavers
  • Eurospar
  • Onside
  • Eason Book Club

National Book Tokens Children’s Book of the Year, Junior

The Children’s Awards were created in the first Irish Book Awards expansion of 2006.  The initial sponsor was The Dublin Airport Authority and Specsavers took over from 2011-2016. The children’s awards are split into three categories: junior, senior, and from 2017, Teen & Young Adult. The junior category, now sponsored by National Book Tokens, is aimed at readers under 8 years of age.

Previous Winners:

  • 2016 Pigín of Howth by Kathleen Watkins & illustrated by Margaret Anne Suggs
  • 2015 Imaginary Fred by Eoin Colfer & Oliver Jeffers
  • 2014 Shh! We Have a Plan by Chris Haughton
  • 2013 When You Were Born by Benji Bennett
  • 2012 This Moose Belongs to Me by Oliver Jeffers
  • 2011 The Lonely Beast by Chris Judge
  • 2010  On the Road with Mavis and Marge by Niamh Sharkey
  • 2009  Before You Sleep by Benji Bennett
  • 2008  The Story of Ireland by Brendan O’Brien
  • 2007  The Incredible Book-eating Boy by Oliver Jeffers

Click here for Eligibility guidelines