Irish Book Awards

Supported by

  • Bookselling Ireland
  • Dept 51 @ Eason
  • RTÉ Offical Media Partner
  • Sunday Independent
  • National Book Awards
  • Avoca
  • Eason
  • Listowel Writers’ Week
  • Ireland AM
  • Specsavers
  • Irish Independent

Bord Gáis Energy Sports Book of the Year

No nation revels in its sporting culture more than the Irish. We also love to write about it and to read about it and every year, whether it’s GAA or soccer, rugby or horse racing, a terrific crop of finely-written sports books hits the Irish bookstores. Past winners have included Irish sporting greats such as Ronan O’Gara, Johnny Giles, Brian O’Driscoll and Paul McGrath.

Previous Winners:

  • 2018 Game Changer by Cora Staunton with Mary White
  • 2017 The Choice by Philly McMahon with Niall Kelly
  • 2016 The Battle by Paul O’Connell
  • 2015 Until Victory Always: A Memoir by Jim McGuinness
  • 2014 The Test by Brian O’Driscoll
  • 2013 Seven Deadly Sins by David Walsh
  • 2012 My Olympic Dream by Katie Taylor
  • 2011 Inside the Peloton by Nicolas Roche
  • 2010 A Football Man – My Autobiography by John Giles
  • 2009 Ronan O’Gara – My Autobiography by Ronan O’Gara
  • 2008 Trevor Brennan: Heart and Soul with Gerry Thornley
  • 2007 Back from the Brink by Paul McGrath